Florida Triathlon Team

At a media event this month, Special Olympics Florida President and CEO Sherry Wheelock surprised the Unified triathlon team by announcing they had been invited to be part of the 2022 Special Olympics USA Games.

The triathlon team representing Team Florida includes:

  • Kennet Lefkovic, Flagler County athlete
  • Kyle Krekeler, Lake County athlete
  • Adam “AJ” Mucklow, Lake County athlete
  • Adrienne Bunn, Marion County athlete
  • Erin Freel-Mann, Marion County Unified partner
  • Douglas Troyer, Marion County Unified partner
  • Thomas Welsh, Marion County athlete
  • David Berlant, Orange County Unified partner
  • Robert Berlant, Orange County Unified partner
  • Gustavo Costa, Orange County Unified partner
  • Dan Grieb, Orange County Unified partner
  • Wynne McFarlin, Orange County Unified partner
  • Jamie Moses, Orange County Unified partner
  • Jonathan Sady, Orange County athlete
  • Andrew Ahearn, Pasco County athlete
  • Phyllis Crain, Pasco County Unified partner
  • Kairee Whitmore, Pasco County athlete
  • Abigail Adams, Seminole County athlete
  • Simone Goodfriend, Seminole County Unified partner
  • Chris Nikic, Seminole County athlete
The creation of the triathlon program in January 2018 was led by Wynne McFarlin, a triathlete and volunteer with Special Olympics Florida. It has grown quickly and will be included as an official sport in the 2022 Special Olympics USA Games.

The event featured guest appearances by Florida Govenor Ron DeSantis and 2022 Special Olympics USA Games President and CEO Joe Dzaluk.